4 Weeks of #IstayAtHome in Madrid some personal reflections

4 weeks ago our government led by Pedro Sanchez has declared the “Estado de Alarma” which is a pre-stage of Martial Law in order to make sure that the population stays at home, with probably one of the strictest measures in Europe. It an only be declared for 15 days and then be prolonged and we all expect to see it last at least until mid may.

By all means I am a big supporter of this measure since it seems like that this is the only way we can start to reduce the number of infected and in consequence at this moment in time the number of death. It is not an easy measure a government can impose and there will always be those who think that this is authoritarian

There is a thinking that the vast majority of the population uses common sense. I always wonder what common sense is and who declares what is common. I am quite sure that if we would not have adopted the measures we have in Spain right now we would not have started to slow the contagion and even worse the sky rocket high number of death. People who have said “what harm does it do…”, “if my neighbour does this, why should I not do that”. No, we cannot allow people to decide for themselves since the enemy we are fighting is not visible without simple eye.

4 weeks have now passed in which I have not put my feet into an airport, a plane and from what I can tell it will take some time before I will be able to do that again. I enjoy being home and I know what I am very privileged for having a job which keeps me very busy during the day. I am starting to get concerned about what happens when #Wave1 is over. There will be many people who will need help since they have no income at all to even buy food.

It is clear that there will be a period in which we need to simply help people, but what comes after? What will be done to make sure that those people can stand on their own feet?

We would need political leaders who actually think on making a real change. To make something out of this country. I would go actually a step further, there are some example in Spain of Business leaders like Amancio Ortega or Juan Roig who have been able to create very recognised brands and create employment. Oh, sorry for those who vote far to the left, YES they make profit and earn a lot of money! Rest assured it is important that we help this who create jobs which are sustainable in time. Just handing out money others have earned will not drive change and we have all seen where Communism leads us. I do not want a country like the US, where healthcare is only for the privileged, I do not want a country where there is not social network which catches the people.

Yet I do not want a country in which 23-28% of the GDPR is off-grid and never pays a dime to the so much acclaimed public health, public school etc. Public means all not just some. It is easy to scream for more taxes on higher incomes, no issue with that as long as we guarantee that everybody puts in his part. We must stand together, all of us!

The old mantras of left and right will not take us a single step further, we need real leaders who will drive the change especially a country like Spain needs!

I wish you all a very happy Easter. May health be with you and your loved ones

Madrid continues to be beautiful!

About cnitschke

This blog is purely personal and reflects only my personal opinion. None of the content can be related in any way to my employer or former employers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment