All is Lost, really ?

I had one of those wonderfully calm days yesterday in which I decided to watch one of the movies which might not be of everyones taste. The movie is “All is Lost” with Robert Redford. The movie got a 7.0 rating on IMDB and I would tend to think that this is due mainly to the difference in taste since it is a masterpiece. Making a movie with only one actor requires a of courage already but having probably only 2 phrases of spoken words in the whole movie makes it really a challenge. Robert Redford is a master and his expressions were very impacting to me. To me especially the lack of any words of anything which would have been a mere “decoration” of the situation would have been superfluous and I am glad that the director, J.C. Chandor, chose not to go this way. 

For me the summary of the storyline is natural will to survive. The situation starts bad and it is amazing how it continues to get worse. Somehow reminded me of the book “The Grapes of Wrath” by John Steinbeck. I think was about 21 years old when I read the book but it had a huge impact on me. Both stories as different as they are underline how fantastic our human mind can be We should probably try to value it a bit more and more often. We are able to find something positive in any situation now matter how adverse it is. We are able to continue fighting for survival even if there seems to be no way out. Success is not a guarantee but if we are not trying failure is a given. Recently I read on a blog post the quote of Haruki, Murakami “Pain is inevitable. Suffering is Optional”. There is a lot of truth in this quote which at first sight might seem very trivial. We choose how much we suffer even if we are in Pain. 

This is an homage to all those who show us, that there we need to keep on fighting and that almost everything has a solution!A wonderful and sunny Sunday !

IMG_0404

 

About cnitschke

This blog is purely personal and reflects only my personal opinion. None of the content can be related in any way to my employer or former employers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

